Three centuries after Hansa ceased to exist it was decided that it would be reactivated, but in an updated form. In 1989 the first convention of the New Hanseatic League took place, which chose Zwolle in the Netherlands as its meeting place. The first meeting was attended by representatives of fifty centers. As with its great predecessor, the New Hanseatic League chose Lübeck as its headquarters. It is worth knowing that this is the largest voluntary association in the world, and the organization includes representatives of almost two hundred cities from sixteen countries. The New Hanseatic League thus brings together Belgians, Belarusians, Estonians. Finns, Frenchmen, Dutchmen, Icelanders, Lithuanians, Latvians, Germans, Norwegians, Russians, Swedes, Scots, Britons and, of course, Poles. Poland is represented by twenty three cities: Białogard, Braniewo, Chełmno, Darłowo, Elbląg, Frombork, Gdańsk, Goleniów, Kołobrzeg, Koszalin, Kraków, Kwidzyn, Lębork, Malbork, Olsztyn, Sławno, Słubice, Słupsk, Stargard Szczeciński, Strzelce Opolskie, Szczecin, Toruń and Wrocław.

As in the old days, the most important body of the New Hanseatic League is the Congress of Cities. In the deliberations of this body each city has one vote, and resolutions are adopted by a majority of the representatives present. The main goal of the modern Hansa is to build on the achievements of the former union. It is about the idea of a cross-border community, caring for the development of cities, building an identity and promoting values that were close not only to merchants centuries ago but are also dear to modern Europeans. The new Hanseatic League also focuses on what was the foundation of its predecessor, namely – commercial and economic development. The association also supports the transfer of science and information. It deals with the exchange of traditions and is widely active in the field of building the image and recognition of the Hansa as a phenomenon, but also as a brand which adds value to modern cities. The Hanseatic League also involves young people, creating a field of activity for them within structures called Youth Hansa.

It is worth mentioning that representatives of Toruń first took part in the New Hansa Congress in 1997.